Ideas for Fun Summer Days

With summer right around the corner and beautiful blue skies tempting us out you may be thinking of exploring what our community has to offer.  There are plenty of fun adventures just waiting to be had right in our area.  No formal vacation plans required!

We’ve compiled the following list of day trip ideas we hope you will find helpful.  Some of these ideas are geared toward younger family members, some older, while others hold interest for the whole family.

Please let us know if you have something else to add or any feedback about any of these ideas.

The Arboretum and Japanese Garden: www.seattle.gov/parks/parkspaces/japanesegarden.htm

Aviation Center & Boeing Tour (Everett): www.futureofflight.org

Beach Days — Golden Gardens/Ballard, Alki Beach/West Seattle, Seahurst Park/Burien or Jetty Island/Everett all offer a local sandy beach experience! Idylwood Park on Lake Sammamish, and Juanita, Houghton, or Medina Beach Park on Lake Washington offer lake swimming and water play.

Bellevue Art Museum: www.bellevuearts.org

Bellevue Parks: https://parks.bellevuewa.gov/parks-and-trails/parks/bellevue-downtown-park

The Burke Museum (Seattle): www.burkemuseum.org

Chihuly Garden & Glass (Seattle): www.chihulygardenandglass.com

Crystal Mountain (hiking and gondola ride): www.crystalmountainresort.com

Experience Music Project (Seattle): www.empmuseum.org

Farrel McWhirter Park & Farm (Redmond): http://www.redmond.gov/ParksRecreation/Farrel-McWhirterFarmPark

Flower World (Maltby nursery with a small petting zoo area): www.flowerworldusa.com/aboutus.html

Fox Hollow Farm (Issaquah): www.foxhollowfamilyfarm.com

Kelsey Creek Farm (Bellevue): www.farmerjayne.com

KidsQuest Childrens Museum (Factoria): www.kidsquestmuseum.org

Museum of Flight (Seattle): www.museumofflight.org

Museum of History & Industry (Seattle): www.mohai.org

Northwest Railway Museum – Thomas the Train event (Snoqualmie) www.trainmuseum.org

Northwest Trek (Eatonville): http://www.nwtrek.org

King County Parks (link to list of area parks): www.kingcounty.gov/recreation/parks/inventory.aspx

The Pacific Science Center (Seattle): www.pacificsciencecenter.org

Outback Kangaroo Farm (Artlington): www.outbackkangaroofarm.com

Padilla Bay Beach and Estuarine Research Reserve (Mount Vernon): www.padillabay.gov

Point Defiance Zoo & Aquarium (Tacoma): http://www.pdza.org

Remlinger Farms – U-pick, Farm Animals and some small rides.  www.remlingerfarms.com

Ride the Ducks Seattle Tour: www.ridetheducksofseattle.com

The Seattle Aquarium: http://www.seattleaquarium.org

Seattle Art Museum: www.seattleartmuseum.org

Seattle Bug Safari: www.seattlebugsafari.com

Seattle Children’s Museum: www.thechildrensmuseum.org

Seattle Waterfront & Ye Olde Curiosity Shop: www.ye-olde-curiosity-shop.myshopify.com

Snoqualmie Falls: http://www.snoqualmiefalls.com

The Space Needle (Seattle): http://www.spaceneedle.com/home

Tillicum Village/Blake Island Tour: www.argosycruises.com

Washington State Ferries: http://www.wsdot.wa.gov/ferries

Woodland Park Zoo (Seattle): http://www.zoo.org

Museum of Glass (Tacoma): http://museumofglass.org

Local magazines Parent Map www.parentmap.com and Seattle’s Child www.seattleschild.com/Things-To-Do also contain a lot of articles and ideas for family-friendly excursions.

Enjoy!

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email